knitting

New Year, New Knitting Goals

The weather sucks today. It has been below 0 with windchill the past week or so, and I would take that over what we have now. We are getting snow and freezing rain this morning. You know, since I am going back to work after being off for a week. Oh boy. Also, I know I am going to have so much stuff to catch up on.  Remind me, why do I take vacations?

OK, back on topic: I am not one for New Years Resolutions by any means. I think it’s kind of dumb to wait until the new year to start a change. I mean, I did kind of put off my calorie counting and weight loss during the holidays, but that was started back in October and I am just restarting that. I had already lost 14 lbs though by the holidays.

Although I do not like resolutions, I do, however, like the thought of knitting goals.  Do you have any goals? Do you want to try a new technique? Tackle a large project you’ve been putting off? Finish some WIPS or maybe add to the frog pond? (I’ve decided that frogging can be cathartic… I frogged a shawl that was nearly done and I hated and felt great!)

Well, here are my goals. I will possibly update and add to them over the coming months. I’ll also let you know what/when I complete a goal.

  • Knit my first sweater. I have the yarn, I have the pattern, I just need to take measurements and knit a gauge swatch. Then, away I go!
  • Finish the blanket for husband. I just can’t decide what stitch pattern to use to mix it up, but I need to do something. Right now it’s not moving at all.
  • DO NOT MAKE HOLIDAY GIFTS FOR PEOPLE. That was not fun last year.
  • Make a baby blanket for a family friend. I haven’t found a pattern I love yet, and the baby isn’t due until July, but I’d like to be prepared ahead of time. (The baby’s bedroom theme will be underwater/fish, in case you have any pattern suggestions.)
  • Finish dad’s socks that were for Xmas – this I started last night but need to wait until I have my new glasses, the black yarn is just too hard to see.  I will also finish the mittens and scarf that were for the holidays.
  • Husband requested fingerless mitts. I’m excited for this because he’s not one to usually request things aside from a few hats for hiking.
  • design/publish more patterns. I have the 2nd done, just waiting for testing to start/complete!

So what are your goals? Do you set them or just wing it every year? I am thinking of trying to do a loose KAL (well, support group!) for sweater knitting if I can find other sweater newbies. Let me know!

Shamelessly stolen from Quite a Yarn blog.

 

Leave a comment